WIAA Fall Team Tournament Sportsmanship Awards Announced

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, in cooperation with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2012 Fall State Championships.

The winners of the prestigious award are Waupaca in football, Roncalli in girls team tennis, Oconto in girls volleyball, Marquette in boys volleyball and Mount Horeb in boys soccer.

Waupaca was selected for its sportsmanship at the State football finals. It is the first time the school has been selected for the award in any sport. The Comets advanced to the State final in Division 3 and fell 42-7 to Catholic Memorial in the title game played at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison. Receiving honorable mention were Amherst, Glenwood City, Lancaster, Potosi, Regis and Sun Prairie.

Roncalli is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in girls team tennis, which marks the first State sportsmanship honor presented to the school in any sport. The Jets lost their Division 2 semifinal match 4-3 to Edgewood at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison in October. Green Bay Southwest received honorable mention for the award.

A large contingent and positive enthusiasm earned Oconto the Sportsmanship Award at the State Girls Volleyball Tournament. It is the first time the school and community have received the honor. The Blue Devils defeated Cuba City in their Division 3 semifinal match before falling to Oostburg in four sets in the State championship final. Receiving honorable mention for the award are Cuba City, Grantsburg, Hillsboro, Luck, Sun Prairie and Tomahawk.

Marquette earned its fourth sportsmanship recognition in boys volleyball. The Hilltoppers also received sportsmanship accolades in 2002, 2008 and 2010. They have now won six Sportsmanship Awards overall, earning the award in summer baseball in 2006 and in boys tennis in 2008. They lost in four sets to eventual State champion Appleton North in the semifinals after downing Muskego in the quarterfinal round. Honorable mention for the award went to Muskego.

Mount Horeb is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award in boys soccer for the first time. It is the first Sportsmanship Award presented to the Vikings in any sport. They were on the short end of a 3-0 outcome in the Division 2 final game against Xavier. They advanced to the final with a 2-1 victory over Pewaukee in the State semifinal. Aquinas, Eau Claire Memorial, Kenosha Bradford and Neenah received honorable mention for the award.

The WIAA/Rural Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school program and community–or communities in the case of cooperative programs–in each of the State team tournaments that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship. Award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld.

Award winners receive a trophy and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. The selection process includes contributions and evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, police and security personnel, crowd control and ushers, WIAA staff members, and area hotels and restaurants on occasion.